District Conference

The 2015 Rotary District Conference will be held May 5th – 8th, 2016 at Riverhouse and Convention Center in Bend, Oregon. Our District Conference celebrates the great contributions you and your fellow Rotarians make throughout each year.

Rotary District Conferences are all about FELLOWSHIP—fellowship with other members of your Club, fellowship with Rotarians from other Clubs and our District, and fellowship with insightful presenters.

So join us at this year’s District Conference to network with your friends and have great fun. Help celebrate the wonderful contributions you, your fellow Rotarians and our 72 Clubs make throughout our District.

Grants Pass Rotary, other local clubs, win awards at District Conference!

Four Rotary clubs from Grants Pass and the Illinois Valley came home with awards from the 2016 Rotary District 5110 Conference, held May 5-8 in Bend.

Out of the 70 clubs in District 5110, which encompasses the southern two-thirds of Oregon and northern part of California, Josephine County Rotary clubs won 20 awards.

The local clubs are: the Rotary Club of Grants Pass, the Rotary Club of Rogue Gateway, the Rotary Club of Greater Grants Pass and the Rotary Club of Illinois Valley.

All four local clubs received the District Governor’s Award, while Grants Pass, Rogue Gateway and Illinois Valley also won the Rotary International President’s Citation.

Both the governor’s award and the president’s citation are received for achieving criteria that include setting and meeting multiple goals, achieving a net gain in membership, completing community service projects, and members’ total giving to The Rotary Foundation.

In addition, the Illinois Valley, Greater Grants Pass, and Rogue Gateway all won Outstanding Small Club awards.

District Rotarian of the Year went to Nelson Maler, a member of the Grants Pass club. Maler was recognized for working on three district committees and for running this year’s District 5110 raffle, which raised nearly $500,000 for The Rotary Foundation annual fund.

Jim Polk, of the Illinois Valley club, was named Small Club President of the Year. Midge Renton, who heads the Grants Pass club, was named an Outstanding Large Club President, and Greater Grants Pass President Lisa McClease-Kelly and Rogue Gateway President Greg Fishwick were named Outstanding Small Club Presidents.

Additionally, Outstanding Facebook Page awards went to Rogue Gateway, Greater Grants Pass, and the Illinois Valley Rotary clubs. Rogue Gateway also won awards for Outstanding Website and Outstanding Bulletin/Newsletter.

Finally, Gina Marie Agosta, who is a member of Rogue Gateway Rotary, received a District Governor’s Citation for her role as assistant district governor.